tackling life as a real person in a foreign land

follow my travels as i work in frankfurt tackling both life as a real person and as an awkward foreign person...

Sunday, August 21, 2011

it's rude to stare

but since Germans are the Lou Gehrigs of not giving a fuck, they do it anyways. it's apparently not an impolite thing to do, smiling seems to be the bigger offense:
it is a cultural taboo for Germans to smile too much in public, or others see them as mentally challenged.  Some cold and smile-less gazes are cultural norms.
1) way to enforce the stereotype and 2) great, another reason to have everyone think I'm dumb in the head.

1 comment:

  1. I'm the Lou Gehrig of being really really glad that somebody (as in you and Fratwick) will be the Lou Gehrigs (or is it Lous Gehrig?) of making sure somebody still says Lou Gehrig.

    ReplyDelete